Saying Goodbye

This is what most of you who "know" me see. 2 years old.

Tomorrow I’ll be cutting my locs in preparation for my visit to the barber Saturday morning. It’s been 7 years and 4 months since I began this journey, but it’s time for a new beginning. I still remember my coworkers’ suggestion that I still had time to take them out and get a press! It’s funny that once my hair started getting long, they were suddenly in love with them.

2009. At school playing with makeup.

Thankfully, I don’t put much stock in anyone’s opinion about hair. That’s always been one area in which I’ve been confident and adventurous. The locing process with all its “in between” stages kinda forces you to “be where you are” so to speak. Between being obviously natural and having a style that is still a mystery to many (why yes, I do wash my hair) it takes a certain amount of self-awarenes, patience and perhaps craziness to rock locs.

This past July. I just like this pic. Heading out to an "after the reception" party.

Anyway, I’d gotten to the point where I see the glances and in some cases, stares, but I don’t “see” them anymore. Good thing because now I’m going to be damn near bald but I’ve always wanted to try it and I can’t wait! So, it’s been real hair! Looking forward to the next stage of this hair journey.

One thought on “Saying Goodbye

Leave a Reply

