Uncommitted

I wrote a couple days ago how I was never that into politics but that I was going to try and be more aware of the process, etc. And while I didn’t watch the debates in NH, I didn’t totally ignore what was going on (my usual m.o.) and kept my eye on the vote Tuesday. Which leads me to my next issue. Our primary is next Tuesday. However, Michigan moved our election date up a few weeks which violated the rules of the National Democratic Party causing some of the candidates to remove their names from the ballot. There are no democratic candidates (that I’m aware of) coming to Michigan and neither Edwards or Obama will appear on the ballot. (Clinton will left her name on, but won’t even say boo to us). We are being encouraged to vote “uncommitted” if our candidate of choice does not appear, but what’s the point? Does it benefit me and the state to vote this way? Who does stand to gain from “uncommitted”?

*Edited to add: I found this in the paper today uncommitted

I’m still not sure about this. If I vote uncommitted because my candidate doesn’t appear, NOT because I’m actually uncommitted, my wishes still may not be considered. Uncommitted delegates sent to the National Convention can vote for which ever democratic candidate they choose? Hmm…I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

